GCSAA's 2017 Annual Meeting

The 2017 Annual Meeting of the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America will be held on Thursday, Feb. 9, 2017, in Orlando, Fla., as part of the 2017 Golf Industry Show. 

After careful evaluation by the Nominating Committee, the following members have been nominated for the GCSAA Board of Directors and will appear on the ballot:

Officer positions

For president:

Bill H. Maynard, CGCS

For vice president:

Darren J. Davis, CGCS

For secretary/treasurer:

  • Rafael Barajas, CGCS
  • John R. Fulling Jr., CGCS
Director positions

Six members are on the slate to fill three open director positions:

  • Mark F. Jordan, CGCS
  • Jeffrey F. Millies, CGCS
  • Kevin P. Sunderman
  • Rory Van Poucke
  • John Walker
  • Jeff L. White, CGCS

There are three open positions for director, with John R. Fulling Jr, CGCS, and Mark F. Jordan, CGCS, at the end of their two-year director terms and John Walker completing a one-year appointment. The three director candidates receiving the most votes will be elected to two-year terms.

For the secretary/treasurer candidates, if Rafael Barajas, CGCS, is elected secretary/treasurer, John R. Fulling Jr., CGCS, will have to be nominated from the floor for the position of director, since he is at the end of his two-year term, and the remaining year of Rafael Barajas, CGCS, director’s term would be filled by an appointment. If John R. Fulling Jr, CGCS, is elected secretary/treasurer, Rafael Barajas, CGCS, will automatically remain on the board as a director for another year.

Kevin P. Breen, CGCS, remains on the board with one year remaining in his two-year term. Peter J. Grass, CGCS, will serve on the board for one year as immediate past president. John J. O’Keefe, CGCS retires from the board after service the last year as immediate past president.