Outstanding Contribution Award

The Outstanding Contribution Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the membership, through outstanding contributions for the golf course industry.


An individual may be nominated by a chapter of GCSAA, a college/university representative, a member of the industry or any member of GCSAA, including self-nominations. Evidence of substantiation must accompany the nomination. Nominees must not currently be a Class AA, A, B, C, EM or ISM GCSAA member or must not have retired in any of the membership classification listed. A nominee must have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the golf course superintendent’s profession. The contribution must be significant in both substance and duration. The outstanding contribution may be or have been regional in nature. The nominee must not have been a recipient of the Outstanding Contribution Award in the past.

The Outstanding Contribution Award Task Group makes a recommendation to the GCSAA Board of Directors from the nominations, and then the board selects the award winner.


The Outstanding Contribution Award winner receives:

  • Complimentary registration to the GCSAA Conference and Trade Show, and select air/hotel travel expenses.
  • Recognition in GCSAA publications and websites
  • Recognition at the GCSAA Conference and Trade Show
  • National, regional and local publicity
  • Personalized plaque
  • Name on a permanent plaque at GCSAA headquarters


Nominations for the 2025 Outstanding Contribution Award are open through June 15, 2024.

Submit a nomination »

For questions, contact Eileen Bangalan, senior director, business strategy, by email at ebagalan@gcsaa.org, by phone at 785-832-4423, or by mail to GCSAA, 1421 Research Park Dr., Lawrence, KS 66049-3859.


Tenia Workman


Fred Yelverton, Ph.D.


Jack Fry, Ph.D.