Maintaining your CGCS status

Find out what's required during your five-year renewal cycle


Once certified, you will begin a five-year renewal cycle. To renew your status, you must meet the following requirements:

1. Continuing education requirement

There are two ways you can satisfy the education renewal requirements for certification:

  • You must either attain at least 15 points, of which a minimum of 5.0 must be education points
  • Successfully complete the written examination, plus attain 5.0 points, with a minimum of 2.0 education points.

Please keep in mind that all points must be earned within your five-year CGCS renewal cycle.

How to earn education and service points »

2. IPM requirement

To renew your CGCS status, you must fulfill the IPM requirement (either by submitting your pesticide license information or taking the IPM exam).

Learn more about the IPM requirement »

3. Renewal application

The renewal application and fee must be received in GCSAA headquarters prior to your expiration date. Renewal applications received after the expiration date will not be processed.

Use this form to indicate your intent to renew your certification status. The form and processing fee can be submitted within 13 months prior to the expiration date of your certification renewal.

Renewal application »

For more information about the certification program and fulfilling the requirements, review the Certification Code of Standards.