Certification examination

Test your knowledge of superintendent competencies

The certification exam must be successfully taken within your one-year applicant period, which begins when your application is approved.

About the exam

  • The exam is closed book.
  • It has three parts for a total of 211 multiple-choice questions.
  • It must be completed in one sitting within the six-hour time limit.
  • You must score a minimum of 67% on each part for passing.

Scheduling your exam

GCSAA offers the exam once a year at the GCSAA Education Conference and the Golf Industry Show. You can take the test at that time, or you may choose to test on another date with a local monitor. If you chose this option, you and a GCSAA-approved monitor will arrange the time and place to take the test. GCSAA will mail the exam directly to the monitor, along with a postage-paid, certified-return receipt envelope for returning it to headquarters.

Retaking the exam

You may retake any failed part twice in your applicant period. However, if you fail to pass a part after two retakes, you will be required to wait one year before you may reapply to the program. Also, please note that there is a 30-day waiting period between exams, so you must allow yourself enough time to include retakes if needed during your one-year period. For this reason, testing early in your applicant period is recommended.